Hearty Crockpot Chili

Who doesn’t love a nice hearty bowl of chili on a crisp fall day?! Crazy people, that’s who!  So… I decided to make a nice big pot and warm myself up 🙂

Luckily, I had all ingredients on hand, but it doesn’t take much.  I also am not a huge fan of spicy food – so I keep mine pretty mild.  Below is a list (and pic) of the ingredients.  I threw everything in the crockpot and cooked on HIGH for about 4hrs.  You could also do LOW for about 8 hrs – but I put this on later in the day and wanted to devour some sooner than later lol.  I also prefer mine a little thicker, so I can scoop it up with tortilla chips – mmmm!  If you want it thinner, I would just add some more tomato sauce or maybe even some beef broth.  I like to get crazy creative and make things up as I go along that I think would be good together…

Ingredients:

Ground beef

Canellini Beans (1 can)

Black Beans (1 can)

Corn (1 can)

Rotel (1 can)

Tomato Sauce (1 small can)

Slow cooker chili mix (whole pkg)

Chili Powder  (1 tsp)

Fresh chopped onion (1 cup)

Fresh chopped green pepper (2 medium sized)

A1 sauce (1 tbsp) -not pictured

1 bottle of wheat beer (I used Goose Island 312) – not pictured

Salt and pepper to taste

ingredientsI used the A1 sauce, pepper, and chili powder while I browned the beef.

Once beef is browned and cooked thoroughly, I drained the excess juice and dumped into the crockpot.  I threw all the other ingredients in and stirred them together.  As for the beer – bc I am sure you were thinking, “BEER?!” – I like beer, so I figured “why not throw some beer in there?!”.  So I did lol,  and I loved the subtle taste of it. Again, if you were making this for kids, I would just suggest more tomato sauce or some beef broth. (Unless you’re that parent lol jk) Then I put on the lid and let the magic happen 🙂

crockpot chili I garnished with some shredded cheddar cheese and fresh diced onion, sat on the couch with a handful of tortilla chips and dug right in!!  Since I am so popular single and live alone – this lasted me a couple of days alternating between lunch and dinner.  I love it for the heartiness and quick prep time.  Obviously anything made in a crockpot is a great turn-on-and-go meal!

Hope you enjoy it as much as I do!!  xo

Leave a comment